• La technologie
  • Équipement électrique
  • Autres
  • industrie-des-matériaux
  • Politique de confidentialité
  • À propos de nous
  • Nous contacter
Emplacement: Accueil / La technologie / Construisez un digest e-mail personnalisé en suivant des sujets, des personnes et des entreprises publiés sur JD Supra.Alerte de violation de données: Morley Companies, Inc. "Ma meilleure intelligence commerciale, dans un e-mail facile…"

Construisez un digest e-mail personnalisé en suivant des sujets, des personnes et des entreprises publiés sur JD Supra.Alerte de violation de données: Morley Companies, Inc. "Ma meilleure intelligence commerciale, dans un e-mail facile…"

Plateforme de services à guichet unique |
152

Récemment, le fournisseur de services aux entreprises Morley Companies, Inc.publié des informations supplémentaires sur un récent «incident de sécurité des données» que la société a vécu à la mi-2021.Selon un dossier officiel de société, le 1er août 2021, les sociétés de Morley ont découvert une activité inhabituelle qui affectait les ordinateurs de l'entreprise.Après avoir mené une enquête de suivi sur l'incident, la société a appris qu'une partie non autorisée a peut-être eu accès aux noms, aux dates de naissance, aux numéros de sécurité sociale, aux numéros de permis de conduire et aux informations sur la santé de plus de 13 500 personnes à l'échelle nationale.

Les violations de données telles que la violation des sociétés de Morley peuvent se produire de diverses manières.Souvent, ils sont le résultat d'un pirate qui violait les systèmes informatiques d'une entreprise dans l'intention d'obtenir des informations de consommation sensibles.Alors que personne ne sait pourquoi les entreprises de Morley étaient la cible de cette récente cyberattaque, les cybercriminels ciblent fréquemment les entreprises qui ont des vulnérabilités dans leurs systèmes et technologies de sécurité de données.

Une fois qu'un pirate a accès à un réseau informatique, il leur est possible d'obtenir et de supprimer les informations sensibles des consommateurs situées sur les serveurs de l'entreprise.Bien qu'une entreprise puisse déterminer que certains fichiers étaient accessibles, il n'a souvent aucun moyen de savoir quelles informations des parties ont été réellement consultées ou si le pirate a conservé l'une de ces données.Quoi qu'il en soit, ceux dont les informations ont été compromises par une violation de données ou un autre événement de piratage courent un risque accru de vol d'identité.Compte tenu de cette réalité, il est impératif pour quiconque a reçu une lettre de violation de données de Morley Companies, Inc.Pour rester vigilant concernant leurs comptes en ligne, leurs cartes de crédit, leurs comptes bancaires et leur rapport de crédit.

Bien que le fait que vos informations aient été compromises ne signifie pas nécessairement que la partie non autorisée l'utilisera à des fins criminelles, c'est certainement une possibilité.C'est particulièrement le cas ces dernières années, car la pandémie Covid-19 a donné aux criminels amplement l'occasion de profiter des systèmes de sécurité des données négligés alors que les entreprises traitaient de ce qu'elles considéraient comme des problèmes beaucoup plus importants.

Des entreprises comme Morley Companies, Inc.avoir le devoir de protéger les données des consommateurs.Si des preuves émergent que les entreprises de Morley ont mal géré vos informations sensibles menant à la violation, vous pouvez être éligible à une compensation financière par le biais d'un procès de violation de données.

Les consommateurs sont-ils touchés par la violation de données des sociétés de Morley, ayant droit à une rémunération financière?

Lorsque vous avez fourni à Morley les entreprises vos informations personnelles, vous avez fait confiance à l'entreprise pour garder vos informations sécurisées.Certes, toute personne dans votre poste supposerait que l'entreprise prendrait les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher les pirates ou autres acteurs criminels d'accéder aux données sensibles des employés.Cependant, la nouvelle de cette violation de données soulève des questions très réelles sur l'adéquation des mesures de sécurité des données de l'entreprise.

Build a custom email digest by following topics, people, and firms published on JD Supra. Data Breach Alert: Morley Companies, Inc.

Toutes les entreprises ont une obligation éthique et légale de garantir que les informations sensibles aux consommateurs restent privées.Et bien que le développement et le maintien d'un système de sécurité des données puissent sembler être une dépense inutile, ce n'est pas le cas lorsqu'une entreprise opère dans un environnement où la menace des cyberattaques est toujours présente.

Les lois sur la violation des données des États-Unis permettent aux consommateurs de poursuivre les entreprises pour une mauvaise utilisation ou un traitement par négligence de leurs informations privées.Cependant, ces lois sont complexes et la nouvelle de cette violation de données de Morley Companies est très récente.Sans surprise, au moment actuel, il n'y a pas encore de preuves suggérant que les entreprises de Morley sont responsables de la cyberattaque. However, that may change, as our data breach lawyers are looking into the breach to determine what legal remedies consumers may have against the company.

Si vous avez des questions sur votre capacité à intenter une poursuite en recours collectif contre les données contre Morley Companies, Inc., you should contact a data breach attorney as soon as possible.

Que faire si vous avez reçu une notification de violation de données de Morley Companies, Inc.

Si les entreprises de Morley vous envoyaient une lettre de violation de données, cela signifie que vous faisiez partie de ceux dont les données personnelles étaient peut-être accessibles par une partie non autorisée.En conséquence, un inconnu total - très probablement un criminel - il a été consulté, consulté et volé vos informations.Bien que personne ne puisse savoir pourquoi un pirate voudrait vos informations ou ce qu'elle pourrait en faire, il est essentiel que vous restiez vigilant pour vous protéger du risque accru de vol d'identité en prenant les mesures suivantes:

À propos de Morley Companies, Inc.

Fondée à l'origine en tant que quincaillerie à Saginaw, Michigan, dans les années 1860, Morley Companies n'est pas un fournisseur mondial de services commerciaux. The company’s services include business process outsourcing, meetings & incentives, and exhibits and displays.Actuellement, Morley Companies, Inc.a plus de 2 500 employés et reste son siège à Saginaw, Michigan.Selon le site Web de la société, il recueille les informations suivantes auprès des consommateurs:

The company also provides a detailed list of how it uses the consumer information it gathers.

Les détails des Morley Companies, Inc.Violation des données des consommateurs

Selon la dernière lettre de violation de données publiée par Morley Companies, Inc., le 1er août 2021, les entreprises de Morley ont découvert une activité inhabituelle qui affectait les ordinateurs de l'entreprise.En réponse, Morley Companies a lancé une enquête sur l'événement avec l'aide d'experts en cybersécurité.Cette enquête a révélé qu'un acteur inconnu avait peut-être accédé et obtenu des données du réseau Morley sans autorisation.L'entreprise a ensuite poursuivi son enquête pour déterminer les informations sur les consommateurs qui auraient pu être accessibles par la partie non autorisée.En fin de compte, le 22 décembre 2021, la société a déterminé que les informations suivantes concernant 13 630 personnes étaient compromises:

Le 26 janvier 2021, Morley Companies, Inc.a commencé à envoyer des lettres de notification de violation de données à toutes les parties concernées.Ces avis décrivent ce qui s'est produit et fournit les personnes touchées par la violation des informations sur ce qu'elles peuvent faire pour se protéger.Les sociétés de Morley soulignent qu'il n'est pas au courant de aucune instance dans laquelle les données compromises ont été utilisées par la partie non autorisée;Cependant, l'entreprise a encouragé ceux dont les informations ont été compromises pour surveiller les signes de vol d'identité et de fraude en surveillant étroitement leurs comptes en ligne et leurs rapports de crédit.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une copie de la lettre initiale de violation de données publiée par Morley Companies, Inc. (a sample of the actual notice sent to consumers can be found here):

Cher [consommateur],

Nous écrivons pour vous informer d'un incident qui peut avoir impliqué vos informations personnelles et vous conseiller de certaines mesures que vous pouvez prendre pour vous aider.

Qu'est-il arrivé?Le 22 décembre 2021, nous avons appris que vos informations peuvent avoir été impliquées dans un incident de sécurité des données.L'incident a commencé le 1er août 2021, lorsque nos données sont devenues indisponibles.Nous avons immédiatement engagé des experts en cybersécurité pour déterminer si les informations de quelqu'un avaient été affectées et pour aider à restaurer l'accès aux données.Alors qu'à l'heure actuelle, nous n'avons toujours aucune preuve que des informations ont été utilisées à mauvais escient, par abondance de prudence, nous fournissons un crédit et une surveillance d'identité complémentaires à ceux dont les informations peuvent avoir été dans les systèmes affectés. <>

Quelles informations ont été impliquées?Les fichiers qui peuvent avoir été accessibles par la personne non autorisée peuvent avoir contenu le nom, la date de naissance, le numéro de sécurité sociale, le numéro de permis de conduire et les informations de santé.

Que faisons-nous?Dès que nous avons découvert l'incident, nous avons pris les mesures décrites ci-dessus.De plus, nous avons travaillé avec nos experts pour essayer d'empêcher un tel incident de se reproduire. We have also secured the services of IDX to provide credit and identity monitoring at no cost for <> months.IDX est un leader mondial de l'atténuation et de la réponse des risques, et son équipe a une vaste expérience en aidant les personnes qui ont subi une exposition involontaire de données confidentielles.Les services IDX comprennent: surveillance du crédit;surveillance de l'identité;1 million de dollars d'assurance remboursement des dépenses d'identité;Prévention de la fraude et soutien à la résolution.

Pour recevoir des services de crédit, vous devez avoir plus de 18 ans, avez établi du crédit dans le U.S., Ayez un numéro de sécurité sociale en votre nom, et ayez un u.S.Adresse résidentielle associée à votre dossier de crédit.Des informations supplémentaires décrivant vos services IDX complémentaires sont incluses avec cette lettre.

Veuillez noter que vous devez vous inscrire avant le 26 avril 2022.Si vous avez des questions ou avez besoin d'aide, veuillez appeler IDX au 1-833-676-2226.

Ce que vous pouvez faire: veuillez consulter la page clôturée «les étapes que vous pouvez prendre pour protéger davantage vos informations».Il décrit des étapes supplémentaires que vous pouvez prendre pour aider à protéger vos informations, y compris les recommandations de la Federal Trade Commission concernant la protection du vol d'identité et les détails sur la façon de placer une alerte de fraude ou un gel de sécurité sur votre dossier de crédit.Nous vous encourageons également à activer les services de surveillance d'identité complémentaires que nous mettons à disposition via IDX.

Pour plus d'informations: si vous avez des questions ou avez besoin d'aide, veuillez appeler le 1-833-676-2226, du lundi au vendredi à partir de 9.m.à 9 p.m.ET.Veuillez préparer votre code d'inscription.

La protection de vos informations est importante pour nous.Sachez que nous prenons cet incident très au sérieux et regrettez profondément toute inquiétude ou inconvénient que cela puisse vous causer.

• Technology
  • Electric Equipment
  • Others
  • material industry
  • Privacy Policy
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
Location: Home / Technology / Build a custom email digest by following topics, people, and firms published on JD Supra. Data Breach Alert: Morley Companies, Inc. "My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Build a custom email digest by following topics, people, and firms published on JD Supra. Data Breach Alert: Morley Companies, Inc. "My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

serv |
150

Recently, the business services provider Morley Companies, Inc. released additional information about a recent “data security incident” the company experienced in mid-2021. According to an official company filing, on August 1, 2021, Morley Companies discovered unusual activity that was affecting company computers. After conducting a follow-up investigation into the incident, the company learned that an unauthorized party possibly gained access to the names, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, driver’s license numbers and health information of more than 13,500 individuals nationwide.

Data breaches such as the Morley Companies breach can come about in various ways. Often, they are the result of a hacker breaching a company’s computer systems with the intention of obtaining sensitive consumer information. While no one knows why Morley Companies was the target of this recent cyberattack, cybercriminals frequently target companies that have vulnerabilities in their data-security systems and technology.

Once a hacker gains access to a computer network, it is possible for them to obtain and remove sensitive consumer information located on the company’s servers. While a company may be able to determine certain files were accessible, they often have no way to know which parties’ information was actually viewed or whether the hacker retained any of this data. Regardless, those whose information was compromised through a data breach or other hacking event are at an increased risk of identity theft. Given this reality, it is imperative for anyone who received a data breach letter from Morley Companies, Inc. to remain vigilant regarding their online accounts, credit card, bank accounts, and credit report.

While the fact that your information was compromised doesn’t necessarily mean the unauthorized party will use it for criminal purposes, it is certainly a possibility. This is especially the case in recent years, as the COVID-19 pandemic gave criminals ample opportunity to take advantage of neglected data security systems as companies were dealing with what they considered much bigger issues.

Businesses like Morley Companies, Inc. have a duty to protect consumer data. If evidence emerges that Morley Companies mishandled your sensitive information leading up to the breach, you may be eligible for financial compensation through a data breach lawsuit.

Are Consumers Impacted by the Morley Companies Data Breach Entitled to Financial Compensation?

When you provided Morley Companies with your personal information, you trusted the company to keep your information secure. Certainly, anyone in your position would assume that the company would take the necessary steps to prevent hackers or other criminal actors from accessing sensitive employee data. However, news of this data breach raises some very real questions about the adequacy of the company’s data security measures.

Build a custom email digest by following topics, people, and firms published on JD Supra. Data Breach Alert: Morley Companies, Inc.

All companies have an ethical and legal obligation to ensure sensitive consumer information remains private. And while developing and maintaining a data security system may seem like an unnecessary expense, that is not the case when a company operates in an environment where the threat of cyberattacks is ever-present.

The data breach laws of the United States allow consumers to sue companies for the misuse or negligent handling of their private information. However, these laws are complex, and news of this Morley Companies data breach is very recent. Not surprisingly, at the current moment, there is not yet any evidence suggesting that Morley Companies bears responsibility for the cyberattack. However, that may change, as our data breach lawyers are looking into the breach to determine what legal remedies consumers may have against the company.

If you have questions about your ability to bring a data breach class action lawsuit against Morley Companies, Inc., you should contact a data breach attorney as soon as possible.

What to Do if You Received a Data Breach Notification from Morley Companies, Inc.

If Morley Companies sent you a data breach letter, it means that you were among those whose personal data was possibly accessed by an unauthorized party. As a result, a total stranger—very likely a criminal—might have accessed, viewed, and stolen your information. While no one can know why a hacker would want your information or what they might do with it, it is essential you remain vigilant to protect yourself from the heightened risk of identity theft by taking the following steps:

About Morley Companies, Inc.

Originally founded as a hardware store in Saginaw, Michigan, in the 1860s, Morley Companies is not a global provider of business services. The company’s services include business process outsourcing, meetings & incentives, and exhibits and displays. Currently, Morley Companies, Inc. has more than 2,500 employees and remains headquartered in Saginaw, Michigan. According to the company’s website, it collects the following information from consumers:

The company also provides a detailed list of how it uses the consumer information it gathers.

The Details of the Morley Companies, Inc. Consumer Data Breach

According to the most recent data breach letter issued by Morley Companies, Inc., on August 1, 2021, Morley Companies discovered unusual activity that was affecting company computers. In response, Morley Companies initiated an investigation into the event with the assistance of cybersecurity experts. This investigation revealed that an unknown actor may have gained access to and obtained data from the Morley network without authorization. The company then continued its investigation to determine what consumer information could have been accessed by the unauthorized party. Ultimately, on December 22, 2021, the company determined that the following information pertaining to 13,630 individuals was compromised:

On January 26, 2021, Morley Companies, Inc. began sending out data breach notification letters to all affected parties. These notices describe what occurred and provide those affected by the breach with information on what they can do to protect themselves. Morley Companies emphasizes that it is unaware of any instance in which the compromised data was used by the unauthorized party; however, the company encouraged those whose information was compromised to keep a lookout for signs of identity theft and fraud by closely monitoring their online accounts and credit reports.

Below is a copy of the initial data breach letter issued by Morley Companies, Inc. (a sample of the actual notice sent to consumers can be found here):

Dear [Consumer],

We are writing to inform you of an incident that may have involved your personal information and to advise you of certain steps you can take to help protect your personal information, including the activation of credit and identity monitoring services we are offering at no cost to you.

What Happened? On December 22, 2021, we learned that your information may have been involved in a data security incident. The incident began on August 1, 2021, when our data became unavailable. We immediately engaged cybersecurity experts to determine if anyone’s information had been affected and to help restore data access. While at this time we still have no evidence that any information was misused, out of an abundance of caution we are providing complimentary credit and identity monitoring to those whose information may have been in the affected systems. <>

What Information Was Involved? The files that may have been accessed by the unauthorized individual may have contained Name, Date of Birth, Social Security number, Driver’s License number, and Health Information.

What Are We Doing? As soon as we discovered the incident, we took the steps described above. In addition, we worked with our experts to try to prevent such an incident from ever happening again. We have also secured the services of IDX to provide credit and identity monitoring at no cost for <> months. IDX is a global leader in risk mitigation and response, and its team has extensive experience helping people who have sustained an unintentional exposure of confidential data. The IDX services include: credit monitoring; identity monitoring; $1 million in identity theft expense reimbursement insurance; fraud prevention and resolution support.

To receive credit services, you must be over the age of 18, have established credit in the U.S., have a Social Security number in your name, and have a U.S. residential address associated with your credit file. Additional information describing your complimentary IDX services is included with this letter.

Please note you must enroll by April 26, 2022. If you have questions or need assistance, please call IDX at 1-833-676-2226.

What You Can Do: Please review the enclosed “Steps You Can Take to Further Protect Your Information” page. It describes additional steps you can take to help safeguard your information, including recommendations by the Federal Trade Commission regarding identity theft protection and details on how to place a fraud alert or a security freeze on your credit file. We also encourage you to activate the complimentary identity monitoring services we are making available through IDX.

For More Information: If you have questions or need assistance, please call 1-833-676-2226, Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET. Please have your Enrollment Code ready.

Protecting your information is important to us. Please know that we take this incident very seriously and deeply regret any worry or inconvenience that this may cause you.