• La technologie
  • Équipement électrique
  • Autres
  • industrie-des-matériaux
  • Politique de confidentialité
  • À propos de nous
  • Nous contacter
Emplacement: Accueil / La technologie / Les étudiants en ingénierie JMU amènent Iron Man dans la classe

Les étudiants en ingénierie JMU amènent Iron Man dans la classe

Plateforme de services à guichet unique |
234

Quand Ryan Motta a regardé le premier film "Iron Man" avec son père, il a décidé qu'il voulait construire quelque chose comme le costume d'Iron Man de Tony Stark.

En tant que majeure en génie senior chez JMU, il l'a fait.

Pour leur projet Senior Capstone, Motta et trois autres étudiants ont été chargés de créer une machine biophysique interactive.En réponse, ils ont conçu et construit un modèle Iron Man de 7 pieds de haut que le groupe utilise pour enseigner aux élèves des écoles élémentaires en sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques, en particulier sur les signaux cérébraux et les mouvements musculaires.

"Notre objectif était de leur montrer le côté amusant de STEM et tous les éléments amusants et créatifs afin qu'ils soient plus inspirés pour vouloir rechercher ces parascolaires", a déclaré Motta.

L'équipe compte quatre membres, qui sont tous des majors en génie senior chez JMU.Lauren Dargan est le chef d'équipe, Will Sullivan travaille en tant que chef de projet, Jenna Lindsey gère les composants de la biologie et Motta supervise les aspects d'apprentissage STEM.

Plusieurs années avant la formation de l'équipe Capstone, Callie Miller et Nathan Wright, les conseillers du corps professoral pour le projet, ont réfléchi au concept initial d'un projet qui pourrait être utilisé en milieu communautaire.Ils ont remporté une subvention de la National Science Foundation pour financer pleinement le développement de leur projet, et lorsque l'équipe d'étudiants s'est réunie, ils les ont chargés de réduire le travail qu'ils voulaient faire.

"Nous l'avons écrit relativement large", a déclaré Wright.«Nous avons dit:« Nous avons cette idée, cette grande idée, et nous aimerions que vous en parveniez vraiment aux détails.""

Les membres de l'équipe, les juniors à l'époque, ont été sélectionnés en septembre 2020 en fonction de leur intérêt à travailler sur une machine à biophysique qui pourrait être utilisée pour enseigner une leçon interactive et être présentée à la foire du comté de Rockingham en août dernier en août dernier.

Lindsey a déclaré que l'équipe devait «travailler en arrière.«Ils ont commencé par identifier la leçon qu'ils voulaient enseigner - comment les signaux nerveux envoyés du mouvement musculaire de contrôle du cerveau - puis réfléchissent les personnages qu'ils pourraient transformer en un modèle physique pour l'enseigner.

JMU engineering students bring Iron Man into the classroom

L'équipe a ensuite envoyé une enquête qui a été diffusée dans le système scolaire du comté de Rockingham pour déterminer quel personnage serait le plus attrayant pour les élèves de quatrième à sixième année.Bien que d'autres possibilités comprenaient le robot Baymax du film "Big Hero 6" et la main prothétique que Luke Skywalker Sports dans "Star Wars", a déclaré que Iron Man avait gagné par un glissement de terrain.

"Nous avons vu que ce n'était pas seulement une lourde démographie qui le voulait", a déclaré Motta.«Nous avions une bonne propagation de sexes, d'âges, que tous semblaient être à l'origine de vouloir en savoir plus sur lui."

Tout au long de leur année junior, l'équipe a développé des leçons pour enseigner avec le modèle Iron Man.Iron Man sert de leçon d'introduction qui affiche visuellement le système nerveux et aide les élèves à comprendre comment les signaux cérébraux sont communiqués dans tout le corps.Le deuxième exercice utilise un écran de planche pour illustrer à quoi il ressemble pour que les signaux passent à travers une membrane cellulaire;Le troisième - qui est partiellement terminé et toujours dans le développement pour l'instant - sera un modèle prothétique électrique d'une main et de l'avant-bras qui montre comment les signaux envoyés à travers les muscles créent un mouvement.

Plans mis en action

L'été avant leur dernière année, les étudiants ont commencé à construire Iron Man. The model is an illustration painted on a sheet of plywood that’s cut away to show transparent tubes where “brain signals," represented by plastic balls, travel down the body.Les systèmes de fils et de moteurs contrôlent le mouvement des balles, qui peut être déclenché en appuyant sur les boutons à l'avant.La petite amie de Motta, Shea Burch, a installé et combiné des images qu'elle a trouvées en ligne pour développer les visuels qui montrent la moitié du corps d'Iron Man dessiné dans le costume rouge et or du personnage et l'autre moitié comme le système musculaire du corps.Lorsque l'équipe utilise Iron Man dans la classe, les enfants peuvent appuyer sur les boutons à l'avant du modèle, qui provoquent des balles pour rouler le tube en plastique aux mains ou aux pieds de l'Iron Man.

Le modèle Iron Man était le principal livrable du projet de l'équipe, ils devaient donc le faire terminer au moment où la foire du comté de Rockingham a commencé en août.L'équipe a terminé au cours de l'été et a installé un stand à la foire, où il a passé huit heures sur six jours pour montrer aux élèves de l'école primaire locaux leur présentation.

“It was very fun seeing everyone interact with Iron Man," Lindsey said.«Vous voyez un enfant de l'autre côté de la pièce, et leurs yeux s'allument et [ils] essaient de traîner leurs parents."

Environ 2 000 enfants ont interagi avec Iron Man au cours de la foire, Motta a estimé.L'équipe a distribué des enquêtes pour savoir ce qui a fonctionné et ce qui pourrait être amélioré.

“A lot of kids left … saying, ‘I learned something new, I really enjoyed this, I wish my school did this,"" Motta said.

Dargan said it was meaningful to be able to be at the fair with Lindsey as “role models" for the girls who attended.L'objectif de l'équipe est d'encourager les jeunes étudiants à construire des projets similaires. Giving kids that kind of inspiration is “heartwarming," Lindsey said.

“STEM is hard," Motta said.«Ce sont des choses très complexes que nous construisons et concevons, et beaucoup d'échecs se font pour les faire.Mais c'est la mentalité d'enseigner à ces enfants [que] si vous êtes prêt à traverser ce sacrifice, vous sortirez des choses de l'autre côté qui sont beaucoup plus gratifiantes."

The team also took Iron Man to a fourth grade classroom at Mennonite Elementary School, where they used a bingo exercise to teach the students scientific vocabulary, with terms like “battery," “biology" and “nucleus."

Bethany Gibbs, enseignante à Mennonite Elementary dont la classe de élèves de quatrième année a accueilli l'équipe Iron Man, a déclaré que ce type de projet STEM était utile pour ses élèves car cela leur a permis d'interagir avec les matières scientifiques qu'ils apprenaient.

L'équipe a encore un semestre de plus pour perfectionner ses leçons et modèles.Après cela, leur travail sera transmis à une équipe d'étudiants JMU Junior Engineering qui utiliseront le modèle Iron Man comme inspiration pour créer de nouvelles leçons.

Pour l'instant, Motta, Dargan, Sullivan et Lindsey restent occupés alors qu'ils se préparent à présenter Iron Man dans au moins une classe de plus au cours du semestre de printemps.Ils travaillent 10 à 12 heures par semaine pour finaliser les leçons et les modèles.

Miller et Wright ont tous deux déclaré que l'équipe d'Iron Man était positionnée pour accomplir beaucoup de choses au printemps.

“They’ve set the bar very high," Miller said, “and my hope is that this translates to the junior team … I think that peer-to-peer mentoring is going to be key for establishing this legacy of really quality products."

Contactez Maria Copeland à Copelamt @ Dukes.JMU.édu.Pour en savoir plus sur la culture, les arts et le style de vie des communautés JMU et Harrisonburg, suivez le bureau de la culture sur Instagram et Twitter @Breeze_Culture.

• Technology
  • Electric Equipment
  • Others
  • material industry
  • Privacy Policy
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
Location: Home / Technology / JMU engineering students bring Iron Man into the classroom

JMU engineering students bring Iron Man into the classroom

serv |
233

When Ryan Motta watched the first “Iron Man” movie with his dad, he decided he wanted to build something like Tony Stark’s Iron Man suit.

As a senior engineering major at JMU, he did.

For their senior capstone project, Motta and three other students were tasked with creating an interactive biophysics machine. In response, they designed and built a 7-foot-tall Iron Man model the group uses to teach elementary school students lessons in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, specifically about brain signals and muscle movement.

“Our goal was to show them the fun side of STEM and all the fun, creative elements of it so that they would be more inspired to want to seek out those extracurriculars,” Motta said.

The team has four members, all of whom are senior engineering majors at JMU. Lauren Dargan serves as the team leader, Will Sullivan works as the project manager, Jenna Lindsey handles biology components and Motta oversees the STEM learning aspects.

Several years before the formation of the capstone team, Callie Miller and Nathan Wright, the faculty advisers for the project, brainstormed the initial concept of a project that could be used in community settings. They won a grant from the National Science Foundation to fully fund the development of their project, and when the team of students assembled, they tasked them with narrowing down the work they wanted to do.

“We wrote it relatively broad,” Wright said. “We said, ‘We have this idea, this big idea, and we’d like you to really get down to the specifics of it.’”

The members of the team, juniors at the time, were selected in September 2020 based on their interest in working on a biophysics machine that could be used to teach an interactive lesson and be presented at the Rockingham County Fair this past August.

Lindsey said the team had to “work backwards.” They started by pinpointing the lesson they wanted to teach — how nerve signals sent from the brain control muscle movement — and then brainstormed characters they could make into a physical model to teach it.

JMU engineering students bring Iron Man into the classroom

The team then sent out a survey that was circulated throughout the Rockingham County school system to determine which character would be most appealing to fourth through sixth graders. Although other possibilities included the robot Baymax from the movie “Big Hero 6” and the prosthetic hand that Luke Skywalker sports in “Star Wars,” Motta said Iron Man won by a landslide.

“We saw it wasn’t just one heavy demographic that wanted him,” Motta said. “We had a good spread of genders, ages, that all seemed to be behind wanting to learn about him.”

Throughout their junior year, the team developed lessons to teach with the Iron Man model. Iron Man serves as an introductory lesson that visually displays the nervous system and helps students understand how brain signals are communicated throughout the body. The second exercise uses a board display to illustrate what it looks like for signals to pass through a cell membrane; the third — which is partially finished and still in the development for now — will be an electric prosthetic model of a hand and forearm that demonstrates how signals sent through muscles create movement.

Plans put in action

The summer before their senior year, the students began building Iron Man. The model is an illustration painted on a sheet of plywood that’s cut away to show transparent tubes where “brain signals,” represented by plastic balls, travel down the body. Systems of wires and motors control the balls’ movement, which can be triggered by pressing buttons on the front. Motta’s girlfriend, Shea Burch, pitched in and combined images she found online to develop the visuals that show half of Iron Man’s body drawn in the character’s red and gold suit of armor and the other half as the body’s muscular system. When the team uses Iron Man in the classroom, kids can press the buttons on the front of the model, which prompt balls to roll down the plastic tubing to Iron Man’s hands or feet.

The Iron Man model was the primary deliverable for the team’s project, so they had to have it completed by the time the Rockingham County Fair began in August. The team finished over the summer and set up a booth at the fair, where it spent eight hours over six days to show local elementary school students their presentation.

“It was very fun seeing everyone interact with Iron Man,” Lindsey said. “You see a kid from across the room, and their eyes light up and [they] try and drag their parents over.”

About 2,000 kids interacted with Iron Man over the course of the fair, Motta estimated. The team handed out surveys to learn what worked and what could be improved.

“A lot of kids left … saying, ‘I learned something new, I really enjoyed this, I wish my school did this,’” Motta said.

Dargan said it was meaningful to be able to be at the fair with Lindsey as “role models” for the girls who attended. The team’s goal is to encourage younger students to build similar projects. Giving kids that kind of inspiration is “heartwarming,” Lindsey said.

“STEM is hard,” Motta said. “These are very intricate things that we’re building and designing, and a lot of failure goes into making them. But it’s the mindset of teaching these kids [that] if you’re willing to go through that sacrifice, you’ll come out with things on the other side that are that much more rewarding.”

The team also took Iron Man to a fourth grade classroom at Mennonite Elementary School, where they used a bingo exercise to teach the students scientific vocabulary, with terms like “battery,” “biology” and “nucleus.”

Bethany Gibbs, a teacher at Mennonite Elementary whose class of fourth graders hosted the Iron Man team, said this type of STEM project was helpful for her students because it allowed them to interact with the scientific subjects they were learning.

The team still has one more semester to perfect their lessons and models. After that, their work will be passed down to a team of JMU junior engineering students who’ll use the Iron Man model as inspiration to create new lessons.

For now, Motta, Dargan, Sullivan and Lindsey are staying busy as they prepare to present Iron Man in at least one more classroom during the spring semester. They work 10-12 hours a week to finalize the lessons and models.

Miller and Wright both said the Iron Man team is positioned to accomplish a lot in the spring.

“They’ve set the bar very high,” Miller said, “and my hope is that this translates to the junior team … I think that peer-to-peer mentoring is going to be key for establishing this legacy of really quality products.”

Contact Maria Copeland at copelamt@dukes.jmu.edu. For more on the culture, arts, and lifestyle of the JMU and Harrisonburg communities, follow the culture desk on Instagram and Twitter @Breeze_Culture.