• La technologie
  • Équipement électrique
  • Autres
  • industrie-des-matériaux
  • Politique de confidentialité
  • À propos de nous
  • Nous contacter
Emplacement: Accueil / La technologie / Les difficultés du système d'information des étudiants frustrent les universités

Les difficultés du système d'information des étudiants frustrent les universités

Plateforme de services à guichet unique |
89

Les chocs ont traversé les cercles de technologie de l'enseignement supérieur le mois dernier lorsque l'Ohio State University a annoncé qu'elle abandonnerait une facette clé de son partenariat avec le logiciel Vendor Workday, abandonnant les plans pour devenir un adopteur précoce de haut niveau du système d'information étudiant basé sur le cloud de l'entreprise, Étudiant de la journée de travail.

Les analystes extérieurs et les responsables de l'information de l'université ont permis aux coûts probables que l'Ohio State soit dans des dizaines de millions de dollars et a décrit le partenariat séparé comme le dernier exemple d'efforts difficiles et à enjeux élevés pour améliorer les systèmes d'information des étudiants (SIS) (SIS).Alors que les responsables de l'État de l'Ohio ont refusé de commenter les coûts ou les détails du projet, les dirigeants de l'industrie l'ont qualifié d'expérience étroitement regardée en raison des subtilités intégrées à la création de systèmes d'information étudiante basés sur le cloud de nouvelle génération - en particulier pour les établissements de recherche de niveau un - commeainsi que le besoin vital de systèmes d'information d'étudiants plus avancés basés sur le cloud..

Si l'Ohio State ne peut pas le faire, la pensée va, alors peut-être qu'aucune institution de recherche de niveau 1.

Le plus populaire

Les dirigeants universitaires veulent offrir une personnalisation basée sur le cloud de niveau amazon.Mais la route pour ériger un tel système personnalisé est longue et marquée par des nids-de-poule coûteux.

"Lorsque vous mettez en œuvre un système étudiant ... c'est comme subir une chirurgie à cœur ouvert et une greffe de cerveau et une greffe de foie, tout en même temps", a déclaré Nicole Engelbert, vice-présidente du développement de l'enseignement supérieur chez Oracle, le principal concurrent de Workday.«L'échelle est intimidante, même dans le meilleur des cas."

Tracy Schroeder, vice-présidente des services d'information et de la technologie à l'Université de Boston, a déclaré que BU avait vraiment besoin de capacités de SIS de nouvelle génération, mais ne peut pas trouver ce qu'elle recherche sur le marché.Elle a dit que la soeur est vitale car c'est la plate-forme qui touche tout ce que font les élèves et définit leur expérience dans de nombreuses dimensions.

«Nous sommes dans le domaine des étudiants en service. This platform is the most important platform, the most strategic platform [and] … it’s the platform with which students interact the most," Schroeder said.Elle a ajouté que la soeur peut «façonner l'impression d'un étudiant sur le campus et rendre les choses sans friction, facile, amicale."

Student Information System Difficulties Frustrate Universities

Mais la prochaine génération de SIS promet de faire quelque chose de plus ambitieux et nécessaire, a-t-elle dit.Il exploitera les données et les tirera en tirer parti pour personnaliser les recommandations, les services et soutient les étudiants par étudiant.

Schroeder a déclaré qu'elle espérait que Workday continuer à avancer malgré ses récents travaux à l'Ohio State.Elle s'inquiète que parce que le bassin de grandes institutions de recherche n'est pas si grande, les entreprises pourraient décider de ne pas aller de l'avant en investissant dans la technologie.

Histoires connexes

La journée de travail n'est pas seule à faire face à des défis.Oracle and Thesis (une entreprise autonome a été transférée de l'unité 4) a également connu des retards importants dans la mise sur le marché de sa nouvelle soeur.La perception existante de la difficulté impliquée dans la création de ces SIS de nouvelle génération a fait de l'Ohio State et de l'arrêt de travail en particulier l'attention pour les leaders de la technologie des dysfonses supérieures, les DSI et les experts externes ont déclaré.

Alors que Sion Rogers, porte-parole de Workday, a refusé de commenter les coûts de l'Ohio State ou les détails des retards, il a dit dans un communiqué que le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur est unique par rapport aux autres marchés Workday Services.

“The vast breadth of the Workday Student product—compounded with the fact that all institutions go live at the same time of year—results in a unique situation that includes different pressures on product and deployment resources," the statement said.«Notre communauté client continue de se développer avec 18 clients qui se rendront en ligne au cours de la dernière année ... Alors que nous mettons davantage de clients en production, nous nous attendons à voir une augmentation simultanée de l'efficacité du déploiement, comme nous l'avons vu avec tous les autres produits de travail de travail."

Michael Berman, CIO du California State University System, le plus grand du pays, a déclaré que son système inscrit environ un demi-million d'étudiants par an et maintient environ six millions de dossiers étudiants à tout moment.

Il a déclaré que les étudiants aujourd'hui s'attendent à un haut degré de service en ligne, qui est souvent difficile à rencontrer depuis que les produits SIS utilisés dans la plupart des collèges et universités ont été conçus dans les années 1990.

“It was an IBM PC world in 1998, when we started implementing systems like this, and of course, now we’re in a mobile phone world, and a smart AI [world]," Berman said.«Quand ils vont à l'université, [les étudiants] s'attendent à pouvoir obtenir des systèmes et des services qui ressemblent à ce qu'ils ont l'habitude d'utiliser en ligne de tant d'autres fournisseurs.Et nous sommes mis au défi d'atteindre ce niveau de service - nous ne répondons souvent pas à cela."

Berman said “very few" campuses have gotten to the level of sophistication with SIS products that students expect.Il a dit que la réalité n'est pas tant que la technologie n'existe pas, mais plutôt qu'elle n'existe pas sous une forme où les universités peuvent se permettre de payer pour cela.Il a dit que les coûts peuvent être stupéfiants.À son avis professionnel, si l'État de Cal, en tant que plus grand système de quatre ans du pays, devait remplacer sa base de base avec les RH et les finances, cela coûterait des centaines de millions et peut-être plus d'un milliard de dollars.

Berman surveillera plutôt où les cinq à 10 prochaines années de travail avec les premiers adoptants vont réévaluer l'investissement dans un nouveau système SIS une fois que le marché clarifie et les coûts baissent.Il fait fonctionner sa technologie existante en ajoutant plusieurs systèmes plus petits et plus spécialisés.

«Chaque dollar que nous mettons envers une technologie comme [Workday Student] est de 1 $ qui ne va pas en classe. It doesn’t go to a faculty member, it doesn’t go to a field station where students are doing research, it doesn’t go to training faculty to do better online courses," Berman said.«Ce ne sont vraiment pas des décisions technologiques.Ce sont des décisions financières ou des décisions institutionnelles."

Vicki Tambellini, PDG de la société de recherche et consultative ED Higher ED The Tambellini Group, a déclaré que Workday, Oracle et Unit 4 (maintenant thèse) ont tous annoncé qu'ils développeraient leur nouvelle SIS entre 2013 et 2015, et tous ont rencontré d'importants retards.(Interrogé sur les retards, Engelbert, l'Oracle Executive, a déclaré que la société était «incroyablement conservatrice sur le moment où nous apportons un produit entièrement sur le marché." A spokesman for Thesis acknowledged only that “portions" of its product have been delayed.)

Tambellini a déclaré que les retards ont été un point de douleur pour les dirigeants universitaires.

“There are a lot of institutions that are running selected systems from more than 20 years ago, who are feeling the pain of those legacy environments, who are interested in replacing those old systems and who are very anxious to have something new and modern," Tambellini said."Il y a eu une frustration générale sur le marché qu'il n'y a pas un certain nombre de nouveaux systèmes concurrentiels pour évaluer."

Tambellini estime que Workday et Oracle ont plus de 100 développeurs qui travaillent sur leurs produits SIS, ce qui est emblématique de la difficulté de créer des sœurs de nouvelle génération à construire.

She said most higher ed institutions are still running student systems “on premise," meaning every update has to be handled by the local IT team and the personalization most universities seek is harder to come by.Elle a noté que la dysfonction sociale est plus élevée par rapport à d'autres industries dans le changement technologique parce que la planification, la budgétisation et les décisions de financement dans la dysfonction érectile ont tendance à prendre plus de temps.Elle a dit qu'environ 3 milliards de dollars sont dépensés chaque année pour les systèmes étudiants et les services associés à l'échelle mondiale.

“If it’s important enough for these companies to invest in, it should be important enough to do well," Tambellini said.

• Technology
  • Electric Equipment
  • Others
  • material industry
  • Privacy Policy
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
Location: Home / Technology / Student Information System Difficulties Frustrate Universities

Student Information System Difficulties Frustrate Universities

serv |
85

Shock rippled through higher education technology circles last month when the Ohio State University announced it would drop a key facet of its partnership with the software vendor Workday, abandoning plans to become a high-profile early adopter of the company’s cloud-based student information system product, Workday Student.

Outside analysts and university chief information officers pegged the likely sunk costs for Ohio State to be in the tens of millions of dollars and described the severed partnership as just the latest example of challenging and high-stakes efforts to upgrade student information systems (SIS). While Ohio State officials declined to comment on the costs or specifics of the project, industry leaders called it a closely watched experiment because of the intricacies embedded in creating next-generation cloud-based student information systems—particularly for tier-one research institutions—as well as the vital need for more advanced cloud-based student information systems sectorwide.

If Ohio State can’t do it, the thinking goes, then perhaps no large tier-one research institution can.

Most Popular

University leaders want to offer Amazon-level cloud-based personalization to every student, explaining courses they should consider based on what they’ve previously taken, for example, or managing dozens of iterations of class registration preferences based on prerequisites and graduation year. But the road to erecting such a personalized system is long—and marked by expensive potholes.

“When you implement a student system … it’s like getting open-heart surgery and a brain transplant and a liver transplant, all at the same time,” said Nicole Engelbert, vice president of higher education development at Oracle, Workday’s main competitor. “The scale is daunting, even in the best of times.”

Tracy Schroeder, vice president of information services and technology at Boston University, said BU badly needs next-generation SIS capabilities but can’t find what it’s looking for in the market. She said the SIS is vital because it is the platform that touches everything students do and defines their experience in many dimensions.

“We are in the business of serving students. This platform is the most important platform, the most strategic platform [and] … it’s the platform with which students interact the most,” Schroeder said. She added that the SIS can “shape a student’s impression of the campus and make things frictionless, easy, friendly.”

Student Information System Difficulties Frustrate Universities

But the next generation of SIS promises to do something even more ambitious and needed, she said. It will mine data and leverage it to customize recommendations, services and supports student by student.

Schroeder said she hopes Workday keeps pushing ahead despite its recent travails at Ohio State. She worries that because the pool of large research institutions is not that big, companies could decide not to forge ahead investing in the technology.

Related Stories

Workday isn’t alone in facing challenges. Oracle and Thesis (a stand-alone company spun off from Unit 4) also have experienced significant delays in bringing their new SIS to market. The existing perception of the difficulty involved in creating these next-generation SIS made the Ohio State and Workday stoppage particularly attention grabbing for higher ed tech leaders, CIOs and outside experts said.

While Sion Rogers, a Workday spokesperson, declined to comment on the costs Ohio State incurred or the specifics of the delays, he did say in a statement that the higher education sector is unique compared to other markets Workday serves.

“The vast breadth of the Workday Student product—compounded with the fact that all institutions go live at the same time of year—results in a unique situation that includes different pressures on product and deployment resources,” the statement said. “Our customer community continues to grow with 18 customers going live in the past year alone … As we get more customers into production, we expect to see a simultaneous increase in deployment efficiency, as we’ve seen with all other Workday products.”

Michael Berman, CIO of the California State University system, the country’s largest, said his system enrolls about half a million students annually and keeps track of about six million student records at any given time.

He said students today expect a high degree of online service, which is often difficult to meet since the legacy SIS products in use at most colleges and universities were designed in the 1990s.

“It was an IBM PC world in 1998, when we started implementing systems like this, and of course, now we’re in a mobile phone world, and a smart AI [world],” Berman said. “When they go to university, [students] expect to be able to get systems and services that look like what they’re used to using online from so many other providers. And we are challenged to reach that level of service—we often fall short of that.”

Berman said “very few” campuses have gotten to the level of sophistication with SIS products that students expect. He said the reality isn’t so much that the technology doesn’t exist, but rather that it doesn’t exist in a form where universities can afford to pay for it. He said costs can be staggering. In his professional opinion, if Cal State, as the largest four-year system in the country, were to replace its core SIS along with HR and finance, it would cost hundreds of millions and possibly more than a billion dollars.

Berman will instead watch where the next five to 10 years of work with early adopters goes and re-evaluate investing in a new SIS system once the market clarifies and costs go down. He is making his existing technology work by adding multiple smaller and more specialized systems.

“Every dollar that we put towards a technology like [Workday Student] is $1 that doesn’t go to the classroom. It doesn’t go to a faculty member, it doesn’t go to a field station where students are doing research, it doesn’t go to training faculty to do better online courses,” Berman said. “These are really not technology decisions. They’re financial decisions or institutional decisions.”

Vicki Tambellini, CEO of the higher ed research and advisory firm the Tambellini Group, said that Workday, Oracle and Unit 4 (now Thesis) all announced they would develop their new SIS between 2013 and 2015, and all have encountered significant delays. (Asked about the delays, Engelbert, the Oracle executive, said the company is “incredibly conservative about when we bring a product fully to market.” A spokesman for Thesis acknowledged only that “portions” of its product have been delayed.)

Tambellini said the delays have been a pain point for university leaders.

“There are a lot of institutions that are running selected systems from more than 20 years ago, who are feeling the pain of those legacy environments, who are interested in replacing those old systems and who are very anxious to have something new and modern,” Tambellini said. “There’s been general frustration in the market that there aren’t a number of new competitive systems to evaluate.”

Tambellini estimates both Workday and Oracle have more than 100 developers working on their SIS products, which is emblematic of how difficult next-generation SIS are to build.

She said most higher ed institutions are still running student systems “on premise,” meaning every update has to be handled by the local IT team and the personalization most universities seek is harder to come by. She noted that higher ed lags behind other industries in technological change because planning, budgeting and funding decisions in higher ed tend to take longer. She said about $3 billion is spent annually on student systems and associated services globally.

“If it’s important enough for these companies to invest in, it should be important enough to do well,” Tambellini said.