• La technologie
  • Équipement électrique
  • Autres
  • industrie-des-matériaux
  • Politique de confidentialité
  • À propos de nous
  • Nous contacter
Emplacement: Accueil / La technologie / L'USC senior a nommé l'un des quatre meilleurs chercheurs en informatique de premier cycle en Amérique du Nord

L'USC senior a nommé l'un des quatre meilleurs chercheurs en informatique de premier cycle en Amérique du Nord

Plateforme de services à guichet unique |
115

Le prix reconnaît un engagement impressionnant de Leena à la recherche et ses contributions importantes à plusieurs projets de recherche.(Image gracieuseté de Leena Mathur)

Leena Mathur, une personne âgée de l'USC terminant une triple majeure en informatique, en sciences cognitives et en linguistique, a récemment reçu le prix de chercheur de premier cycle exceptionnel de l'Association de recherche informatique (CRA) 2022.Le prix reconnaît les meilleurs étudiants de premier cycle des collèges de l'Amérique du Nord qui démontrent l'excellence et le potentiel exceptionnel dans un domaine de la recherche informatique.Mathur est l'un des quatre récipiendaires qui ont reçu ce prix prestigieux en 2022.

Le centre des intérêts de recherche de Mathur sur les fondations informatiques de l'intelligence artificielle (IA), ainsi que l'avancement de l'IA au profit de la société.

"Je trouve que cela est motivant à travailler sur la recherche sur l'IA qui a le potentiel d'améliorer la santé humaine et le bien-être", a déclaré Mathur.«Je me sens honoré de recevoir ce prix, aux côtés d'autres chercheurs inspirants de premier cycle."

Le prix de la chercheuse de premier cycle exceptionnelle de l'ARC est parrainé par Microsoft Research et Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs (MERL).réans le cadre de ce prix, chaque bénéficiaire recevra une aide financière pouvant atteindre 1 500 $ pour assister à une conférence de recherche de son choix.Mathur prévoit d'utiliser ce financement pour assister à une conférence d'apprentissage automatique plus tard cette année.

À l'USC, Mathur a travaillé sur de multiples projets de recherche interdisciplinaires centrés sur l'homme.Elle a mené des recherches dans le laboratoire d'interaction de l'USC sur la perception des robots de l'empathie et des robots socialement assistants qui aident les enfants autistes;Algorithmes développés pour la préservation des langues en voie de disparition dans le département de linguistique de l'USC;Et, pour sa thèse senior conseillé par le professeur de l'USC Viterbi Maja Matarić, Mathur a créé des approches informatiques pour faire progresser la perception des machines des comportements humains et des émotions.

“Leena is a tremendously deserving recipient of this award," said Matarić, the Chan Soon-Shiong Chair and réistinguished Professor of Computer Science, Neuroscience, and Pediatrics.«Son vaste expérience de recherche de premier cycle s'est concentrée sur les projets qui ont le potentiel d'un réel impact dans le monde.rée nombreux étudiants réalisent de nombreux projets de recherche, mais très peu ont une telle clarté de l'objectif destiné au plus grand bien."

À l'avenir, Mathur prévoit de poursuivre un pH.ré.Vers une carrière de recherche universitaire axée sur la progression de l'intelligence artificielle au profit de la société.

La recherche de premier cycle de Mathur a été publiée dans sept articles, six avec elle en tant qu'auteur principal ou auteur co-chef.L'un d'eux a été nominé pour le prix du meilleur papier à la Conférence internationale de l'ACM 2020 sur l'interaction multimodale.Mathur est un universitaire présidentiel de l'USC et récipiendaire de la bourse de recherche de premier cycle de l'USC Provost.Elle a également reçu deux prix de recherche nationaux: le Barry M.Bourse Goldwater et bourse d'astronaute.

USC Senior Named One of Four Top Undergraduate Computer Science Researchers in North America

En plus de ses recherches à l'USC, Mathur a également mené des recherches sur la vision par ordinateur à l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédéral de Lausanne en Suisse pendant l'été 2019.L'été dernier, elle a mené des recherches au California Institute of Technology on Computer Vision and Traitement des approches pour la perception de la machine de l'émotion humaine.

Mathur, qui a grandi dans le nord de la Californie, a d'abord développé un intérêt pour l'IA pendant son séjour dans une équipe de robotique au lycée.

“I was attracted to USC for its strong engineering program and its Engineering + X philosophy that encourages students to pursue interdisciplinary interests," Mathur said.«Lorsque je suis entré dans l'USC en tant que majeure en informatique avec un intérêt pour l'IA, je me suis vite rendu compte que la science cognitive était un« X »naturel pour compléter mon étude de l'informatique avec une compréhension accrue de la cognition et du comportement."

She added: “After taking a few linguistics classes, I determined that I would also major in linguistics for a deeper academic grounding in the human ability to acquire, interpret, and produce language,"

À l'USC, Mathur est membre de CAI ++, la branche étudiante du Centre pour l'IA de l'USC dans la société (CAI).Les étudiants de premier cycle du CAI ++ travaillent en équipes sur les collaborations de projets avec les professeurs et les clients de l'industrie pour s'attaquer aux problèmes sociétaux pressants dans une gamme de domaines.Elle a été présidente de l'organisation pour l'année 2020-2021.

She has also worked as a resident assistant for two years in USC’s freshman residential colleges and as an undergraduate teaching assistant in USC Viterbi’s réepartment of Computer Science.

La sensibilisation et le mentorat sont importants pour Mathur.Elle a été mentor pour les étudiants de première année dans le programme de mentorat des femmes en ingénierie (WIE) de l'USC, a conçu et dirigé des ateliers de l'IA pour les femmes de WIE et USC Women in Computing Club, et a dirigé des événements de sensibilisation pour les étudiants de Los Angeles par le biais de l'USC Viterbi, K-12 STEM Center.En 2019, elle a enseigné une classe de programmation de huit semaines pour les élèves de troisième année dans une école publique de Los Angeles grâce au programme JEP de l'USC.

Mathur attribue à l'environnement de soutien et inspirant de l'USC Viterbi, ainsi que le large éventail de ressources et de programmes de l'université, pour l'aider à atteindre son potentiel.Elle est particulièrement reconnaissante pour la piste de recherche de l'USC W.V.T.Rusch Engineering Honors Program et pour le programme des chercheurs du Grand Challenge de l'Académie nationale.

“USC Viterbi encourages and challenges students to pursue a holistic engineering education and consider their societal impact," Mathur said.«Mes activités de recherche ont bénéficié de l'accent mis par l'école sur les études interdisciplinaires et l'ingénierie + x philosophie, ainsi que le soutien exceptionnel du corps professoral à la recherche de premier cycle."

Publié le 17 mars 2022

Dernière mise à jour le 3 mai 2022

• Technology
  • Electric Equipment
  • Others
  • material industry
  • Privacy Policy
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
Location: Home / Technology / USC Senior Named One of Four Top Undergraduate Computer Science Researchers in North America

USC Senior Named One of Four Top Undergraduate Computer Science Researchers in North America

serv |
104

The award recognizes Leena’s impressive commitment to research and her significant contributions to multiple research projects. (Image Courtesy of Leena Mathur)

Leena Mathur, a USC senior completing a triple major in computer science, cognitive science, and linguistics, recently received the Computing Research Association’s (CRA) 2022 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award. The award recognizes top undergraduate students from colleges across North America who demonstrate excellence and outstanding potential in an area of computing research. Mathur is one of four recipients who received this prestigious award in 2022.

Mathur’s research interests center on computational foundations of artificial intelligence (AI), as well as advancing AI to benefit society.

“I find it motivating to work on AI research that has the potential to enhance human health and well-being,” Mathur said. “I feel honored to receive this award, alongside other inspiring undergraduate researchers.”

The CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award is sponsored by Microsoft Research and Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs (MERL). As part of this award, each recipient will receive financial assistance of up to $1,500 to attend a research conference of their choice. Mathur plans to use this funding to attend a machine learning conference later this year.

At USC, Mathur has worked on multiple, interdisciplinary human-centered AI research projects. She’s conducted research in USC’s Interaction Lab on robot perception of empathy and socially assistive robots that aid children with autism; developed algorithms for preserving endangered languages in USC’s Linguistics Department; and, for her senior thesis advised by USC Viterbi Professor Maja Matarić, Mathur created computational approaches to advance machine perception of human behaviors and emotions.

“Leena is a tremendously deserving recipient of this award,” said Matarić, the Chan Soon-Shiong Chair and Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, Neuroscience, and Pediatrics. “Her extensive undergraduate research experience has purposefully focused on projects that have the potential for real impact in the world. Numerous students do numerous research projects, but very few have such clarity of purpose aimed at the greater good.”

In the future, Mathur plans to pursue a Ph.D. towards an academic research career focused on advancing artificial intelligence to benefit society.

Mathur’s undergraduate research has been published in seven papers, six with her as the lead author or co-lead author. One of them was nominated for the Best Paper Award at the 2020 ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction. Mathur is a USC Presidential Scholar and a recipient of the USC Provost’s Undergraduate Research Fellowship. She has also received two national research awards: the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and the Astronaut Scholarship.

USC Senior Named One of Four Top Undergraduate Computer Science Researchers in North America

In addition to her research at USC, Mathur also conducted computer vision research at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland during the summer of 2019. This past summer, she conducted research at the California Institute of Technology on computer vision and speech processing approaches for machine perception of human emotion.

Mathur, who grew up in Northern California, first developed an interest in AI during her time on a robotics team in high school.

“I was attracted to USC for its strong engineering program and its Engineering + X philosophy that encourages students to pursue interdisciplinary interests,” Mathur said. “When I entered USC as a computer science major with an interest in AI, I soon realized that cognitive science was a natural ‘X’ to complement my study of computer science with an enhanced understanding of cognition and behavior.”

She added: “After taking a few linguistics classes, I determined that I would also major in linguistics for a deeper academic grounding in the human ability to acquire, interpret, and produce language,”

At USC, Mathur is a member of CAIS++, the student branch of USC’s Center for AI in Society (CAIS). CAIS++ undergraduates work in teams on project collaborations with faculty and industry clients to tackle pressing societal problems in a range of domains. She served as the president of the organization for the 2020-2021 year.

She has also worked as a resident assistant for two years in USC’s freshman residential colleges and as an undergraduate teaching assistant in USC Viterbi’s Department of Computer Science.

Outreach and mentorship are important to Mathur. She’s served as a mentor for freshmen in USC’s Women in Engineering (WIE) mentorship program, designed and led AI workshops for WIE and USC’s Women in Computing club, and led outreach events for Los Angeles students through USC Viterbi’s K-12 STEM Center. In 2019, she taught an eight-week programming class for third-graders at a Los Angeles public school through USC’s JEP Program.

Mathur credits USC Viterbi’s supportive and inspiring environment, as well as the university’s wide range of resources and programs, for helping her reach her potential. She is especially grateful for the research track of USC’s W.V.T. Rusch Engineering Honors Program and for the National Academy of Engineering Grand Challenge Scholars Program.

“USC Viterbi encourages and challenges students to pursue a holistic engineering education and consider their societal impact,” Mathur said. “My research pursuits have benefited from the school’s emphasis on interdisciplinary studies and Engineering+X philosophy, as well as the exceptional faculty support of undergraduate research.”

Published on March 17th, 2022

Last updated on May 3rd, 2022