• La technologie
  • Équipement électrique
  • Autres
  • industrie-des-matériaux
  • Politique de confidentialité
  • À propos de nous
  • Nous contacter
Emplacement: Accueil / La technologie / La startup de Trump jouera-t-elle par les règles de Big Tech?D'autres applications conservatrices font

La startup de Trump jouera-t-elle par les règles de Big Tech?D'autres applications conservatrices font

Plateforme de services à guichet unique |
182

Jason Miller ne se soucie pas d'une petite concurrence de son ancien patron.

Ancien conseiller du président de l'époque, Donald Trump, Miller est le PDG de Gettr, une plate-forme de médias sociaux de type Twitter qui a pris de l'ampleur ces derniers mois après un départ peu propice en juillet dernier.Au cours des 10 premiers jours de 2022, on estime que plus de 700 000 utilisateurs ont téléchargé l'application "Free Speech", selon les données de la tour des capteurs, après que le podcaster Joe Rogan a annoncé qu'il avait créé un profil sur la plate-forme.

Cette croissance a fait de Gettr l'un des participants les plus réussis d'un nouveau genre de plateformes de médias sociaux destinées aux républicains qui ont gagné du terrain ces dernières années.Et avec la plate-forme de médias sociaux très attendue de Trump, Truth Social, prévue pour le lancement en février, Miller a déclaré qu'il s'attend à ce que la croissance s'accélère - et peut-être aller au-delà des conservateurs, malgré l'application ajoutant un autre espace de «liberté d'expression» dans le mélange.

Trump pour lancer une nouvelle société de médias et une plate-forme sociale

Oct. 21, 202103:15

"Je pense que tout ce qui aide à retirer plus de gens de la touche et à se remettre avec ces plates-formes de médias sociaux alternatives, ne fera que la nôtre et mieux", a déclaré Miller à propos de l'application qui sera bientôt.

"Je dis tout le temps à mes amis démocrates, c'est une question de savoir quand, pas si, le pendule se balance dans l'autre sens, et vous avez une raison d'être en colère contre la grande technologie", a-t-il ajouté.

Gettr, comme Parler, Rumble et d'autres plates-formes technologiques adaptées aux conservateurs, sont nés de la contrecoups dirigés vers Facebook et Twitter, qui ont de plus en plus joué un rôle plus actif dans la lutte contre la désinformation et la rhétorique extrémiste sur leurs plateformes - les efforts qui se sont accélérés pendant lapandémie.Twitter et Facebook ont chacun interdit Trump en 2021, bien que Facebook ait laissé la porte ouverte à son éventuel retour.

Cela a fourni l'élan pour que les nouvelles plateformes de médias sociaux interviennent, épousant ouvertement les principes de la liberté d'expression et se tenant des alternatives à Big Tech.Et bien que ces principes restent au centre de ces plateformes, ils se heurtent également aux réalités difficiles de la gestion des entreprises technologiques.

Big Tech a déjà appris qu'une attitude manuelle ne peut aller que si loin.Et la réalité d'Internet signifie que même des applications alternatives doivent souvent jouer au ballon avec Big Tech tout en déterminant où tracer la ligne entre ce qui est et n'est pas un contenu acceptable sur leurs plateformes.

"Je pense que même pour les applications qui se traduisent comme des applications de liberté d'expression, elles finissent par se rendre compte assez rapidement qu'ils doivent avoir une politique de contenu", a déclaré Emma Llansó, directrice du Center for Democracy and Technology Free Expression Project.«Ils doivent avoir un ensemble de règles ou de normes, de normes ou d'idées sur ce qu'ils seront et ne permettra pas sur leurs services, car ils finiront par faire face à beaucoup des mêmes questions que le genre de grandes entreprises de médias sociauxVisage."

Dans l'ombre de Big Tech

Les premiers jours de Gettr étaient désordonnés.

Will Trump’s startup play by Big Tech's rules? Other conservative apps do

Lancé à l'été 2021, il a offert une expérience similaire à Twitter.Mais avec peu de surveillance, il a été rapidement inondé de pornographie et d'autres contenus répréhensibles.

Depuis lors, Gettr a essayé de nettoyer sa plate-forme.Tout en poussant un message anti-censure dans son marketing, Gettr utilise une combinaison de l'intelligence artificielle et de la modération humaine - comme Facebook et Twitter - pour faire respecter ses politiques, qui interdisent «illégal, nuisible, menaçant, abusif, harcelant, diffamatoire, diffamatoire, illégal,indécent, vulgaire, obscène, sexuellement explicite, pornographique, profane, haineux, racial, ethniquement ou autrement répréhensible." Miller said the platform has a strong stance against hate speech and slurs.Il a été confronté à une difficulté à appliquer ces politiques, cependant.

Les défis de Gettr ne sont pas particulièrement différents de ceux auxquels Facebook et Twitter ont été confrontés.Ils ont également cherché à leurs débuts pour adopter une douce approche de la modération, permettant aux groupes extrémistes de croître et de désinformer largement.

`` Votre produit est défectueux '': Sacha Baron Cohen Slams Social Media Companies

Nov. 22, 201903:23

Maintenant, une modération de plate-forme robuste est une condition préalable, même pour les plateformes qui se tiennent comme des bastions de la liberté d'expression. Truth Social CEO Devin Nunes told Fox Business that it will use automated platform moderation through the third-party company Hive to create a “family-friendly" atmosphere.

“We want this to be a very safe place, and we are focused on making sure any illegal content is not on the site," he said.Selon Fox Business, Hive fournit des services de modération aux principales plateformes technologiques comme Reddit, Giphy et Onlyfans.

La modération, à certains égards, n'est pas facultative pour les sociétés de médias sociaux opérant dans les limites plus importantes des applications pour smartphone.

In 2020, Parler, also a Twitter-like “free speech" platform, hit the top of both app stores after the presidential election.Mais avec peu de surveillance, les extrémistes affluent sur la plate-forme.Apple a retiré Parler de son App Store en janvier dernier après qu'Apple a déclaré que Parler n'avait pas réussi à modérer le contenu dangereux.L'application a été utilisée pour organiser le jan.6 insurrection au u.S.Capitole.

Parler est maintenant disponible à nouveau après le renforcement de ses mécanismes de modération de la plate-forme.Il est passé à environ 13 millions d'utilisateurs, selon une estimation de l'Université de Stanford ce mois-ci.L'entreprise n'a pas répondu à une demande de commentaire.

La modération n'est pas la seule pratique que les plateformes conservatrices ont adopté de Big Tech - ou où ils se chevauchent.

Pour tous ses discours difficiles à la suite d'une alternative aux principales plateformes technologiques, Gettr a récemment été critiqué dans la libération de la technologie technique pour inclure Google et Facebook Trackers sur sa plate-forme qui fournissent des données utilisateur aux entreprises à des fins publicitaires, ce qui dit que Miller est destinépour «améliorer l'expérience utilisateur."

Gettr a également directement payé à Facebook 81 848 $ pour acheter des annonces, selon la bibliothèque d'annonces de Facebook.

Miller a déclaré que des applications comme ses se séparent toujours dans le domaine des médias sociaux en raison de leur intention de traiter les utilisateurs également.

“Big Tech platforms use political discrimination to pick winners and losers in the free speech debate," Miller said, despite there being little evidence of such politically motivated censorship from the major tech companies.

Llansó dit que si les principales plateformes sociales pourraient fournir leurs propres recherches ou données pour mettre ces récits au lit, ils ont largement choisi la vie privée, qui, selon elle, ouvre la porte à des applications alternatives."Lorsque les gens ne font pas confiance à une grande entreprise technologique et à ce qu'ils font avec le discours des gens, Internet offre toujours cette opportunité pour essayer de créer votre propre service."

Comment les plateformes conservatrices pourraient changer la politique

Indépendamment des intentions, Gettr et Parler sont dominés par le discours orienté conservateur, un fait reconnu par Miller et reflété dans les données analysées par Idrama Lab, un groupe de chercheurs qui ont étudié les espaces conservateurs en ligne.

Selon janvier 2022, les recherches d'idrama de Pujan Paudel fournies à NBC exclusivement, le meilleur mot utilisé dans les profils Gettr est "Trump" suivi de "Patriot", et le hashtag supérieur utilisé dans les profils est "Maga" suivi de "Trumpwon."Sur Parler, la majorité des comptes les plus suivis de la plate-forme sont des influenceurs ou des sources d'information de droite, selon une analyse de l'Université de Stanford.

Compte tenu de la popularité du contenu conservateur sur des applications comme Parler et Gettr, certains ont suggéré que des applications alternatives pourraient servir de chambres d'écho conservatrices ou même d'espaces frais pour l'extrémisme pour s'épanouir.

Jeremy Blackburn, co-fondateur du laboratoire IDama et professeur adjoint d'informatique à l'Université de Binghamton à New York, a déclaré que les espaces sociaux alternatifs avaient généralement une concentration plus élevée de contenu extrême.

“We do see more of what most people would consider conspiracy, extreme right-wing content," Blackburn said of conservative platforms.Dans les données Gettr fournies par le groupe de recherche de Blackburn, son équipe a constaté que l'utilisation de discours qu'ils avaient codé comme inflammatoire étaient à un niveau supérieur à celle que l'on trouve généralement sur Twitter.

Malgré cela, certains experts disent qu'il peut y avoir des conséquences moins évidentes des applications alternatives.

Llansó a suggéré que plus de bases d'utilisateurs homologues, comme celles de Gettr ou Parler, pourraient entraîner des conversations plus productives entre les conservateurs, car ils se rencontrent à des conditions partagées.

“When you have an online community that is made up of people who are more like-minded than not, whether it’s same demographic backgrounds, or just they’re all there to talk about the same thing that they’re really interested in, that has an effect of kind of creating and sustaining norms of communication that, in some ways, make the host job, the platform’s job, a lot easier," Llansó said.

Christopher Bail, a professor at Duke University who studies political polarization and wrote “Breaking the Social Media Prism," said that the existence of alternative apps could actually isolate and tamp down the spread of extremist content.

“One possibility is that these sites, though they will attract a number of people with particularly extreme views, that they may also prevent some of those views from getting the type of exposure they might get on the larger platforms like Twitter or Facebook," he said.

Une analyse du Washington Post a révélé que le nombre de suiveurs d'influenceurs conservateurs a stagné après une période de croissance initiale lorsqu'ils ont rejoint les plateformes conservatrices.

Mais en ce moment, Gettr et Trump’s Truth Social travaillent des heures supplémentaires pour attirer et maintenir les créateurs d'Internet.Selon Axios, Truth Social a tendu la main aux influenceurs de tout le spectre politique pour essayer de les attirer sur la plate-forme.

Miller essaie avec enthousiasme d'attirer de grands noms sur Twitter, et quand Joe Rogan a explosé Gettr dans son émission après avoir rejoint parce qu'il sentait que l'application a déformé son nombre de suiveurs, Miller a tendu la main pour essayer de réparer les choses.

“He’s a pretty straight shooter," Miller said.«J'étais heureux qu'ils m'ont donné la possibilité d'afficher quelques choses pour aider à comprendre et à espérer continuer à continuer d'être un utilisateur sur la plate-forme."

Rogan n'a pas posté sur la plateforme depuis l'incident.

• Technology
  • Electric Equipment
  • Others
  • material industry
  • Privacy Policy
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
Location: Home / Technology / Will Trump’s startup play by Big Tech's rules? Other conservative apps do

Will Trump’s startup play by Big Tech's rules? Other conservative apps do

serv |
177

Jason Miller doesn’t mind a little competition from his old boss.

A former adviser to then-President Donald Trump, Miller is the CEO of Gettr, a Twitter-like social media platform that has gained momentum in recent months after an inauspicious start last July. In the first 10 days of 2022, it’s estimated that over 700,000 users downloaded the “free speech” app, according to Sensor Tower data, after podcaster Joe Rogan announced he’d created a profile on the platform.

That growth has made Gettr one of the most successful entrants in a new genre of social media platforms targeted at Republicans that have gained traction in recent years. And with Trump’s much-anticipated social media platform, Truth Social, scheduled for launch in February, Miller said he expects growth to accelerate — and possibly move beyond conservatives, despite the app adding another “free speech” space into the mix.

Trump to launch new media company and social platform

Oct. 21, 202103:15

“I think anything that helps pull more people off the sidelines, and get back up with these alternative social media platforms, will only make all of ours bigger and better,” Miller said of Trump’s soon-to-be app.

“I tell my Democrat friends all the time, it’s a matter of when, not if, the pendulum swings back the other way, and you have a reason to be upset with Big Tech,” he added.

Gettr, like Parler, Rumble and other conservative-friendly tech platforms, was born out of the backlash directed at Facebook and Twitter, which have increasingly taken a more active role in combating misinformation and extremist rhetoric on their platforms — efforts that have accelerated during the pandemic. Twitter and Facebook each banned Trump in 2021, though Facebook has left the door open to his possible return.

That provided the momentum for new social media platforms to step in, openly espousing free speech principles and holding themselves up as alternatives to Big Tech. And while those principles remain front and center for these platforms, they’re also coming up against the challenging realities of running tech companies.

Big Tech has already learned that a hands-off attitude can only go so far. And the reality of the internet means even alternative apps often have to play ball with Big Tech while also figuring out where to draw the line between what is and isn’t acceptable content on their platforms.

“I think even for apps that frame themselves as free speech apps, they end up realizing pretty quickly that they have to have a content policy,” said Emma Llansó, the director of the Center for Democracy and Technology’s Free Expression Project. “They have to have some set of rules or standards, standards or ideas about what they will and will not allow on their services, because they’re going to end up facing a lot of the same questions that the kind of big social media companies face.”

In the shadow of Big Tech

The early days of Gettr were messy.

Will Trump’s startup play by Big Tech's rules? Other conservative apps do

Launched in the summer of 2021, it offered a similar experience to Twitter. But with little oversight, it was quickly flooded with pornography and other objectionable content.

Since then, Gettr has tried to clean up its platform. While still pushing an anti-censorship message in its marketing, Gettr uses a combination of artificial intelligence and human moderation — like Facebook and Twitter — to enforce its policies, which prohibit “unlawful, harmful, threatening, abusive, harassing, defamatory, libelous, indecent, vulgar, obscene, sexually explicit, pornographic, profane, hateful, racially, ethnically or otherwise objectionable material.” Miller said the platform has a strong stance against hate speech and slurs. It has faced some difficulty enforcing those policies, though.

Gettr’s challenges aren’t particularly different from those that Facebook and Twitter have faced. They also sought from their early days to take a gentle approach to moderation, allowing extremist groups to grow and misinformation to spread widely.

'Your product is defective': Sacha Baron Cohen slams social media companies

Nov. 22, 201903:23

Now, robust platform moderation is a prerequisite, even for platforms that hold themselves up as bastions of free speech. Truth Social CEO Devin Nunes told Fox Business that it will use automated platform moderation through the third-party company Hive to create a “family-friendly” atmosphere.

“We want this to be a very safe place, and we are focused on making sure any illegal content is not on the site,” he said. According to Fox Business, Hive provides moderation services to major tech platforms like Reddit, Giphy and OnlyFans.

Moderation, in some ways, is not optional for social media companies operating within the larger confines of smartphone apps.

In 2020, Parler, also a Twitter-like “free speech” platform, hit the top of both app stores after the presidential election. But with little oversight, extremists flocked to the platform. Apple removed Parler from its app store last January after Apple said that Parler had failed to moderate dangerous content. The app was used to organize the Jan. 6 insurrection at the U.S. Capitol.

Parler is now available again after bolstering its platform moderation mechanisms. It’s grown to an estimated 13 million users, according to a Stanford University estimate this month. The company did not respond to a request for comment.

Moderation isn’t the only practice that conservative platforms have adopted from Big Tech — or where they overlap.

For all its tough talk about being an alternative to the major tech platforms, Gettr was recently criticized in the tech newsletter Talk Liberation for including Google and Facebook trackers on its platform that provide user data to those companies for advertising purposes, which Miller says is meant to “improve user experience.”

Gettr has also directly paid Facebook $81,848 to purchase ads, according to Facebook’s ad library.

Miller said that apps like his still stand apart in the social media field because of their intention to treat users equally.

“Big Tech platforms use political discrimination to pick winners and losers in the free speech debate,” Miller said, despite there being little evidence of such politically motivated censorship from the major tech companies.

Llansó says that while major social platforms could provide their own research or data to put those narratives to bed, they’ve largely chosen privacy, which she believes opens the door for alternative apps. “When people don’t trust a Big Tech company and what they’re doing with people’s speech, the internet still does provide this opportunity to try to create your own service.”

How conservative platforms could change politics

Regardless of intentions, Gettr and Parler are dominated by conservative-oriented discourse, a fact that’s acknowledged by Miller and reflected in data analyzed by iDRAMA Lab, a group of researchers who have studied conservative spaces online.

According to January 2022 iDRAMA research from Pujan Paudel provided to NBC exclusively, the top word used in Gettr profiles is "Trump" followed by "patriot," and the top hashtag used in profiles is "MAGA" followed by "TrumpWon." On Parler, the majority of the platform’s most-followed accounts are right-leaning influencers or news sources, according to a Stanford University analysis.

Given the popularity of conservative content on apps like Parler and Gettr, some have suggested that alternative apps could serve as conservative echo chambers or even fresh spaces for extremism to flourish.

Jeremy Blackburn, a co-founder of the iDAMA lab and an assistant professor of computer science at Binghamton University in New York, said alternative social spaces have generally had a higher concentration of extreme content.

“We do see more of what most people would consider conspiracy, extreme right-wing content,” Blackburn said of conservative platforms. In the Gettr data provided by Blackburn's research group, his team found that use of speech they’d coded as inflammatory was at a higher level than typically found on Twitter.

Despite this, some experts say there may be less obvious consequences of alternative apps.

Llansó suggested that more homologous user bases, like those on Gettr or Parler, could result in more productive conversations among conservatives, because they’re meeting on shared terms.

“When you have an online community that is made up of people who are more like-minded than not, whether it’s same demographic backgrounds, or just they’re all there to talk about the same thing that they’re really interested in, that has an effect of kind of creating and sustaining norms of communication that, in some ways, make the host job, the platform’s job, a lot easier,” Llansó said.

Christopher Bail, a professor at Duke University who studies political polarization and wrote “Breaking the Social Media Prism,” said that the existence of alternative apps could actually isolate and tamp down the spread of extremist content.

“One possibility is that these sites, though they will attract a number of people with particularly extreme views, that they may also prevent some of those views from getting the type of exposure they might get on the larger platforms like Twitter or Facebook,” he said.

A Washington Post analysis found that many conservative influencers’ follower counts stagnated after an initial growth period when they joined conservative platforms.

But right now, Gettr and Trump’s Truth Social are working overtime to attract and maintain internet creators. According to Axios, Truth Social has been reaching out to influencers from across the political spectrum to try to attract them to the platform.

Miller excitedly tries to attract big names on Twitter, and when Joe Rogan blasted Gettr on his show after he joined because he felt the app misrepresented his follower count, Miller reached out to try to patch things up.

“He’s a pretty straight shooter,” Miller said. “I was glad that they gave me the chance to display a couple of things to help understand and look forward to hopefully continue to be a user on the platform.”

Rogan hasn’t posted to the platform since the incident.